This prepares children for the National Curriculum which starts in Year 1. It sets out the programme of study for Nursery and Reception and consists of seven areas of learning:


 Three Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Four Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The children in the nursery and reception are provided with learning experiences to build on what parents will have achieved.  Teaching  covers all aspects of the curriculum of the school but in a way which is appropriate to the needs of very young children.


It is important that the Foundation Stage is seen as a discreet phase in a child’s development and not simply as preparation for Key Stage 1. All children learn through play with a mixture of child initiated and teacher led learning experiences. Learning takes place both indoors and in our wonderful new outdoor area. As children learn best when parents and staff work closely together, we encourage a strong home/school partnership.